45 members of BPF join UPPL ahead of polls

45 members of BPF join UPPL ahead of polls

Urkhao Gwra Brahma Urkhao Gwra Brahma

Kokrajhar, April 8, 2019:

Campaigning for the Lok Sabha seat in Kokrajhar Constituency is on in full flow and the UPPL party, supported by the AIUDF, sounded its poll bugle in Kokrajhar on Monday. The event was attended by UPPL’s Kokrajhar nominee Urkhao Gwra Brahma, All Bodo Student’s Union (ABSU) leader Pramod Bodo, Yusuf Ali, President of United Muslim minority Council (UMMC), among others. Many leaders of the AIUDF were also present.

A mega rally was held by the party for Kokrajhar candidate Urkhao Gwra Brahma at Ghoramara playground in Chotara where 45 members of the Bodo People’s Front (BPF) defected to the UPPL.

Urkhao Gwra Brahma, while addressing the media during the occasion, said: “People want a change from the BPF and (MP) Naba Sarania. People won’t vote based on the ‘Bodo-non-Bodo’ issue nor will people buy the tangy mangoes that Hagrama has been selling the people for fifteen years. Thus, our victory is a foregone conclusion.”

Kokrajhar Constituency will head to the polls on 23 March during the third phase of voting. The candidates who will contest the election from the Constituency are: Ranjay Kumar Brahma – Independent, Prasenjit Kumar Das – National People Party (NPP), Rajesh Narzary – VPI, Pramila Rani Brahma – BPF , Naba Kumar Sarania – Independent, Biraj Deka – CPI (M), Sabda Ram Rabha – INC, Urkhao Gwra Brahma –United People’s Party (Liberal) and Charan Iswary – Purvanchal Janata Party (Secular).

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Apr 09, 2019