Administration imparts training on EVM counting

Administration imparts training on EVM counting


Bongaigaon, May 13, 2019:

The District Election Officer of 32 Bongaigaon Legislative Assembly Constituency on Monday organized a training program for the Counting Supervisors, Counting Assistants and Micro Observers on Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) counting.

The training was imparted by District Informatics Officer, Bijoy Majumdar in the presence of District Election Officer, Adil Khan. Many senior-level Officers were also present during the training program.

The program was conducted as per the guidelines issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) to train election officials with an aim to ensure smooth conduct of the counting process in accordance with the protocols established by the ECI. The Officials have imparted training on how to handle the EVM, VVPAT, counting of votes.

The training session included videos demonstrating duties of the counting personnel and hands-on training on EVMs. A total of 22 Micro Observers, 20 Counting Supervisors and 22 Counting Assistants will be deployed on the 23rd of May 2019, the day of the Counting of Votes for Lok Sabha Election, 2019.

On the occasion, District Election Officer, Adil Khan, IAS urged the Officials to ensure against any discrepancy in the counting process and ensure smooth culmination of the electoral process. Khan also directed them to be absolutely fair and disciplined during the counting. After the intensive training process, all the Officials clarified their doubts with the Officials of the District Administration.

It is to be mentioned that the Lok Sabha elections in Assam took place in three phases that were scheduled on April 11, 18 and 23. In many districts, faulty EVMs were reported following which repolls were also held in the stations that reported the malfunction.

Moreover, there the Lok Sabha elections have been scheduled from April 11 to May 19. the counting votes will take place on May 23, 2019. Phase- 7 is yet to be held whereas, six phases have undergone polls across the country.

Edited By: Admin
Published On: May 13, 2019