Akhil Gogoi leading in Sibsagar and Debabrata Saikia trailing behind in Nazira

Akhil Gogoi leading in Sibsagar and Debabrata Saikia trailing behind in Nazira

Akhil Gogoi Sivasgar Akhil Gogoi Sivasgar

GUWAHATI: Raijor Dal candidate Akhil Gogoi, who contested as an independent, is leading in Sibsagar and Congress incumbent MLA Debabrata Saikia is trailing behind in the early trends of postal ballot counting in Assam.

Akhil Gogoi had taken the lead by 3,298 votes.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has been very possessive about these two constituencies this time to claim and was doing aggressive campaigns in these two Congress bastions since January.

Apart from BJP's firebrand leader of the Northeast Himanta Biswa Sarma, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union home minister Amit Shah had also visited Sivasagar district several times ahead of the Assam assembly polls.

The counting of postal ballots was going on in 52 counting centers. The counting of EVMs will start once postal ballots are done.

Also Read: Assam astrologer predicts next CM of state. Find out who

As many as 331 counting centres, including 52 for postal ballots, have been set up by the Election Commission in Assam.

EVMs will be counted in 279 centres.

In view of surge in COVID-19 cases across the country, the counting officials have been reduced to 50 per cent, which might result in delay in the process.

The Assam state administration also had enforced Section 144 to restrict gatherings, fire crackers, victory procession etc after the results.

Assam went to polls in three phases on March 27, April 1 and 6. Assam has a total of 126 assembly constituencies where it registered 82.04 per cent polling turn out, which was lesser than the earlier election as well.

As many as 946 candidates are in the fray in the Assam assembly polls.

Follow us on Facebook