All Banks to remain close for 12 days in May; check details here

All Banks to remain close for 12 days in May; check details here

banks banks

GUWAHATI: Both private and public sector banks across India will remain closed for up to 12 days in May, according to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI)'s bank holidays list.

Due to the COVID-19  pandemic, bank branches will operate from 10 am to 2 pm, according to new guidelines provided by the Indian Banks' Association.

On certain national or public holidays, most festivals, and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month, both private and public banks are usually closed.

ALSO READ: Assam Singer Parbin Pori Dies Of COVID-19

Banks have already been forced to reduce their operating hours and staff attendance to 50% due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The RBI has declared these holidays under three headings: Holiday, Negotiable Instruments Act, Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday, and Banks' Closing of Accounts.

However, all online banking services, including ATMs, mobile banking, and seem to be available even on holidays.

Check the complete list of bank holidays of May here: 




May 2, 2021Weekly off (Sunday)
May 7, 2021Jumat-ul-Vida


May 8, 2021Second Saturday


May 9, 2021Weekly off (Sunday)


May 13, 2021Ramzan-Id (Id-Ul-Fitr) (Shawal-1)


May 14, 2021Bhagvan Shree Parshuram Jayanti/Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra)/Basava Jayanti/Akshaya Tritiya


May 16, 2021Weekly off (Sunday)



May 22, 2021

Fourth Saturday



May 23, 2021


Weekly off (Sunday)




May 26, 2021


Buddha Pournima


May 30, 2021 

Weekly off (Sunday)



Follow us on Facebook