Assam: 500 ABVP Members Resign over CAB in Gohpur

Assam: 500 ABVP Members Resign over CAB in Gohpur

assam assam

Gohpur, December 9, 2019:

The members of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) in Gohpur in Biswanath district of Assam have all resigned as a mark of protest against the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill.

Addressing the media here today, AVBP leader Bhaskar Hazarika stated that the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill has been condemned by all the student unions in the State. The Gohpur unit of the ABVP also condemned the Bill, and slammed the Assam unit of the ABVP for "supporting" the Bill. Furthermore, the Gohpur unit of the ABVP also sought forgiveness from the people of Assam for this.

ALSO READ: Exclusive | Kokborok Language of Tripura to be Included in 8th Schedule of Indian Constitution?

Hazarika also eviscerated the Assam leaders -- including CM Sarbananda Sonowal, Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, and AGP leader Atul Bora -- for their silence over the issue. Moreover, he informed that as many as 500 members of the ABVP have already vacated their posts to protest the Bill.

It may be mentioned that a group of 12 students from Assam has resigned from the newly formed Northeast wing of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) wing in New Delhi over the controversial Citizenship Amendment Bill.

The students hailing from Assam were pursuing their higher studies in Delhi and had joined a 17-member Northeast wing of the ABVP. They unanimously decided to resign after students of ABVP took out a rally in Guwahati in support of the Citizenship Amendment Bill.

General Secretary, Sheikh Raisha Tabassum, Joint Secretary, Liza Gogoi, Joint Secretary, Bishnuparna Dutta, Finance President, Tanmoy Deka, Student Welfare President, Niyor Sarma, Students Welfare Secretary, Tanmaya Mahanta, Cultural President, Srishti Dey, Cultural Secretary, Rian Dutta, Girl Students’ Welfare President, Shraddha Suman Saharea, Literary President, Sahil Ahmed, Information and Coordination Head, Aditi, and Social Media Head, Ananya Dutta are the twelve members who resigned from the ABVP.

Support Inside Northeast (InsideNE), an independent media platform that focuses on Citizen-centric stories from Northeast India that are surprising, inspiring, cinematic and emotionally relevant.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast