Assam: Bhubaneswar Kalita Elected as BJP's Nominee for Rajya Sabha Polls

Assam: Bhubaneswar Kalita Elected as BJP's Nominee for Rajya Sabha Polls


Guwahati, March 11, 2020:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has declared the name of former Congress leader Bhubaneswar Kalita as its official candidate for the third Rajya Sabha seat of Assam.

The ruling party on Wednesday announced the names of its nine Rajya Sabha candidates who will be contesting the Rajya Sabha polls on March 26.

ALSO READ: CAA Andolan to Become MP: Minister Himanta takes Jibe at Congress-AIUDF Rajya Sabha Candidate Ajit Bhuyan

Apart from Bhubaneswar Kalita, the BJP has included the newly appointed Jyotiraditya Scindia, who is backed with a huge number of followers, as its Rajya Sabha candidate from Madhya Pradesh soon after he ended his 18-year long association with Congress.

ALSO READ: Assam: BPF’s Biswajit Daimary Files Nomination Papers for Rajya Sabha Polls

Vivek Thakur from Bihar, Abhay Bharadwaj and Ramilaben Bara from Gujarat, Deepak Prakash from Jharkhand, Liye Sewa Maharaja from Manipur, Udyanraje Bhosale  from Maharashtra and Rajendra Gehlot from Rajasthan are the ones fielded by the BJP as its official candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

Support Inside Northeast (InsideNE), an independent media platform that focuses on Citizen-centric stories from Northeast India that are surprising, inspiring, cinematic and emotionally relevant.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Mar 12, 2020