Assam: Gauhati High Court dismisses BPF’s plea against Governor’s rule in BTR

Assam: Gauhati High Court dismisses BPF’s plea against Governor’s rule in BTR

Gauhati HC Gauhati HC

The BPF filed a plea in the Gauhati High Court against the Governor's rule in BTR, Assam. However, the Gauhati High Court has rejected the plea on Monday and said that rule will continue for an additional 6 months.

As per a senior member from BPF speaking on anonymity to Inside Northeast. "As per clause 2 of the 6th schedule, in the event of no elections, the Governor can extend the council's rule for 1 year and if the situation continues and elections are still not able to hold, the extension can be given for another 6 months. Since due to the COVID-19, there was no elections and the Governor's rule was given. But, it should only come when the council's rule is disbanded before 5 years. Also, there's no need for Governor's rule where code of conduct is going on".

The Governor’s rule was imposed in the BTAD, Assam in April after the term of the 40-member Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) expired without an election being held due to the COVID-19 outbreak. The elections for the council were slated to be held on April 4th, 2020, which were deferred due to the COVID-19 outbreak in the state. The last date of filing the nominations was March 18th, 2020 and the last date of withdrawing the nominations was March 21st, 2020.

Also read: Assam rifles apprehend top ULFA (I) cadre in Tinsukia

The BTC, Assam constituencies are: Parbatjhora (ST), Guma ( Open), Srirampur (Non ST), Jomduar (ST), Saraibil (ST), Kachugaon (ST), Fakiragram (Non ST), Dotma (ST), Bonorgaon (ST), Deborgaon (ST), Baukhungri (ST), Salakati (ST), Chirang (ST), Chirang Duar (ST), Kajalgaon (ST), Nichima, Subhaijhar (ST), Manosh Serfang (ST), Thuribari (Open), Mothanguri (Open), Salbari (ST), Kakilabari (ST), Dihira (Open), Mushalpur (ST), Baganpara (ST), Darangajuli (ST), Nagrijuli (Non ST), Gaybari (ST), Suklai Serfang (ST), Goreswar (ST), Khwirabari (ST), Bhergaon (ST), Nonwi Serfang (Non ST), Khakling Duar (ST), Mudwibari (Open), Harisinga (ST), Dhanshri (ST), Bhwirabkundu (ST), Pachnoi Serfang (Non ST) and Rowta (ST).

Meanwhile, all the political parties have geared up its preparations for the elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party and its ally BPF decided to fight the polls alone and expressed confidence in winning the elections in BTR, Assam.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Jul 13, 2020