BJP, AGP retain their forts in Upper Assam

BJP, AGP retain their forts in Upper Assam


GUWAHATI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate and four-time MLA Padma Hazarika has won the Sootea constituency defeating his nearest rival Praneswar Basumatary of Congress, by a margin of 24,155 votes.

Congress candidate Rekibbuddin Ahmed has won from the Chaygaon constituency while BJP’s Bhaskarjyoti Sharma has won from the Margherita constituency.

Former BJP state president Ranjit Dutta has won from the Behali constituency.

Assam minister and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) president Atul Bora and working president Keshab Mahanta have also won from Bokakhat and Kaliabor constituencies respectively.

Congress candidate Bhaskar Jyoti Barua won from the Titabor constituency, the Congress bastion held by former Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi since 2001.

Also Read: Senior BPF leader Pramila Brahma loses in Kokrajhar East

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora has lost from the Gohpur constituency.

Assam minister and AGP candidate Phanibhushan Choudhury has won from the Bongaigaon constituency.

Follow us on Facebook