BTR Poll Result: UPPL & BPF leading in 13 Seats each, election too close to call

BTR Poll Result: UPPL & BPF leading in 13 Seats each, election too close to call

btr poll btr poll

GUWAHATI: Suspense continues to grow in the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC), as both the United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) and Bodoland People's Front (BPF) are now leading in 13 Seats each, with the BJP, which is leading in 12 Seats, nipping both parties' heels. The BTR Poll was held in two phases on December 7 and December 12.

Inside Northeast had earlier predicted that the BJP party would win 10-12 Seats, the BPF would win 10-12 Seats, and the UPPL would win 15-17 Seats. This time, the competition is intense, with the BTC polls being considered 'high-stakes' with the Assam Assembly elections merely months away.

In these initial stages, it is believed that the anti-incumbency factor is playing a major role in the fourth election in the Council, which seems to have hurt Hagrama Mohilary's re-election chances. Moreover, UPPL Chief Promod Boro's assertions that the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) treaty will be implemented in letter and spirit if a new regime takes over, seems to have proved to be a popular ticket.

The Congress-AIUDF and Naba Kumar Sarania's Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) are leading on one Seat each.

ALSO READ: Assam: KMSS to re-launch massive agitation against 'CAA' on Dec 12

The counting of votes for Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election in Assam is currently underway. Notably, polling for 40 seats of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) took place in two phases on December 7 and 10.  

The election was scheduled on April 4, but it was postponed indefinitely due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Subsequently, Governor Jagdish Mukhi assumed the charge of the council on the expiry of its five-year term on Apr 27.

Over 78 percent voter turnout was recorded on Thursday in Bodo Territorial Council’s (BTC) second and final phase of polling, which witnessed police firing in the air to control a clash between BPF and UPPL supporters in Chirang district of Assam. Till the closing of polls at 4.30 pm, 78.80 per cent of 10,23,404 voters exercised their franchise, deciding the fate of 111 candidates for 19 constituencies spread across Kokrajhar and Chirang districts.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Dec 12, 2020