Campaign ends for final phase of Assam assembly election

Campaign ends for final phase of Assam assembly election

Assam election Assam election

GUWAHATI: Campaign for the third and final phase of Assam assembly election came to an end this evening.

No electioneering activity, direct or indirect, will be allowed by any candidate or supporters during the next 48 hours. Distribution of gratifications, including liquor and cash, among voters will be strictly prohibited during the period.

A total of 40 constituencies will go to polls in the final phase in 16 election districts on Tuesday.

ALSO READ: BPF Moves Supreme Court Seeking Stay On Polling In Tamulpur

A total of 79,19,641 voters, including 40,11,539 male, 39,07,963 female and 139 transgenders, will exercise their franchise at 11,401 polling stations, including 1814 auxilaries, to seal the fate of 337 candidates which include 25 females. The voters also include two overseas, 26,460 service voters and 13,389 senior citizens postal voters.

The age group of candidates range between 25 years and 73 years. There are three 73-year-old and four 25-year-old candidates in the fray. Some of the key candidates in the fray include Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowary, Phani Bhusan Choudhury, Pramila Rani Brahma, Chandan Brahma, Ramendra Narayan Kalita, Ranjeet Kumar Dass apart from others.

Among the 40 constituencies, Dispur has the highest number of voters – 4,11,636 – and Dharmapur has the lowest of 1,41,592.

ALSO READ: Chuba Chang elected unopposed as Nagaland’s Noksen MLA

Gauhati (West) constituency will witness the contest among the maximum number of candidates – 15, while the minimum number of candidates is in Boko, where there are only three.

To ensure free and fair polling, a total of 320 companies of security forces have been deployed in the 16 districts going to polls.

Edited By: Imtiaz Ahmed
Published On: Apr 05, 2021