Election Commission Announces Bye-Polls for Assam’s Four Constituencies

Election Commission Announces Bye-Polls for Assam’s Four Constituencies


Guwahati, September 30, 2019:

Election Commission on Monday announced that the bye-polls of the four constituencies of Assam will be held on October 21 and the counting will be held on October 24.

It may be mentioned that all the candidates of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and AIUDF have filed their nominations for the four constituencies today. The last date of withdrawal of nomination is October 3.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will field Bijay Malakar in Ratanbari SC constituency, Tawfiqur Rahman in Jania constituency, Rajen Borthakur in Rangapara constituency, and Nabanita Handique from Sonari constituency.

Also Read: APCC Protests Against Rising Prices in Assam, Wears Garlands Made of Onion

Meanwhile, Congress Party also announced its four candidates - Keshab Prasad Rajak from Ratanbari SC constituency, Shamsul Hoque from Jania constituency, Kartik Kurmi from Rangapara constituency and Sushil Suri from Sonari constituency.

The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) announced its candidate on Saturday. It will field MLA Rafiqul Islam from Jania constituency. The party will contest from only one constituency out of the four constituencies.

Also Read: Karbi Organisation Demands Implementation of Traditional Village Council

Support Inside Northeast (InsideNE), an independent media platform that focuses on Citizen-centric stories from Northeast India that are surprising, inspiring, cinematic and emotionally relevant.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.


Edited By: Admin
Published On: Oct 01, 2019