Exclusive | Probable list of Congress candidates for Lok Sabha election, 2019

Exclusive | Probable list of Congress candidates for Lok Sabha election, 2019

Congress Congress

Guwahati, March 8, 2019:

The names of the Congress frontrunners for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections have reached InsideNE. The Congress, which is known or internal politics within the party, is set the announce the final list on May 12 or 13, but a confidential list containing the name of probable candidates to be fielded in the election has reached InsideNE. As the race for the tickets is in its final phase, let us see who will have the last laugh and who will return empty-handed.

Guwahati: As per our sources, the race is a toss-up between Bobeeta Sharma, Bolin Bordoloi and Ramen Borthakur. Among these, Bolin Bordoloi has emerged as the favorite as he is the son of ‘Bharat Ratna’ Gopinath Bordoloi, the first Chief Minister of Assam.

Jorhat: The seat will either go to Sushanta Buragohain or Gayatri Handique. As per our sources, the AICC is said to be favoring Buragohain at the present moment.

Kaliabor: Son of former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, Gaurav Gogoi, is a lock to contest the election from the Kaliabor constituency.

Nagaon: In all probability, former Minister Pradyut Bordoloi will contest the election from the constituency, while the name of Durlav Sharma is also being floated as a possible contender.

Diphu: Biren Singh Ingti and Khursing Ingti are the two contenders, with the former generally considered the favorite.

Silchar: Incumbent Sushmita Deb is a lock to contest the election from the constituency.

Karimganj: Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya will contest the election on behalf of the Congress.

Dhubri: The supremacy of Badruddin Ajmal and his AIUDF gang will be challenged by either Gul Akhtar or Wajed Ali Choudhury.

Kokrajhar: Durga Das Bodo will contest the election.

Barpeta: Present MLA Abdul Khaleque and Shankar Prasad Rai are the frontrunners in Barpeta, with the party seeming to tilt towards the former in the run-up to the election.

Mangaldai: The Congress seat, in all probability, will go to Madhab Rajbangshi and seasoned politician Joynath Sharma, but the newer contender Rajbongshi is said to be favored by the party top brass.

Lakhimpur: Jogesh Chandra Pegu will most likely contest the Lok Sabha elections on behalf of the Congress, while Bolin Kuli is another strong candidate in the constituency.

Dibrugarh: The election will be contested between Pawan Singh Ghatowar and Manoj Dhanuar.

It will be interesting to see which candidates will win the favor of the party and contest the elections on behalf of the Congress party, which is seeking a new face as veteran politician Tarun Gogoi starts enjoying his life away from the hullabaloo of politics.

in the national sphere, Sonia Gandhi will contest from Rae Bareilly whereas Rahul Gandhi will contest from Amethi. The party will field former Members of Parliament Salman Khurshid (Farukkhabad), Anu Tandon (Unnao), RPN Singh (Kushi Nagar), Jitin Prasada (Dhaurahra), Nirmal Khatri (Faizabad), and Salim Iqbal Shervani (Badaun).

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Mar 09, 2019