Himanta Biswa Sarma leads in Jalukbari; Lurinjyoti Gogoi trails in Naharkatiya

Himanta Biswa Sarma leads in Jalukbari; Lurinjyoti Gogoi trails in Naharkatiya

Himanta Himanta

GUWAHATI: Assam minister and senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Himanta Biswa Sarma is leading in Jalukbari constituency by 24,947 votes after the end of the fourth round of counting.

Congress candidate Romen Chandra Borthakur is trailing behind Sarma by with 15,927 votes.

Earlier in the day, Borthakur claimed that he would get around 90,000 votes and easily defeat Sarma.

On the other hand, Prasanta Phukan of BJP is leading in the Dibrugarh constituency by 13,387 votes after the fifth round of counting.

BJP candidate for Naharkatiya Taranga Gogoi, who is known as Himanta Biswa Sarma's shadow, is leading by 1191 votes over Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) president Lurinjyoti Gogoi after the end of third round of counting.

BJP leaders Chakradhar Gogoi and Binod Hazarika are leading in Moran and Lahoal constituencies by 5138 and 2170 votes respectively.

Dhrubajyoti Gogoi of Congress is leading in Duliajan constituency by 1660 votes while Bimal Borah of BJP is leading in Tingkhong constituency by 8836 votes.

Also Read: Assam Elections trends: CM Sarbananda Sonowal leads in Majuli

Asom Gana Parishad’s  Punakon Phukan is leading in the Chabua constituency by 2351 votes.

Meanwhile, counting of votes for the 126-member Assam assembly election is under way with the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) leading in 80 seats, followed by the Congress-led ‘Mahajot’ in 44, Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) in one and Raijor Dal in one.

Follow us on Facebook