Know Your Constituency: Lakhimpur

Know Your Constituency: Lakhimpur

Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency

Guwahati, April 4, 2019:

Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency will vote during the first phase of the elections on April 11 along with 4 other Constituencies to form the 17th Lok Sabha.

The multicultural and multi-ethnic Constituency has historically been a Congress citadel since 1967 when the elections were first fought there and Biswanarayan Shastri was the first MP from the Constituency. The monopoly of the Congress was first broken by Gokul Saikia of the AGP, but the Congress took over the reins of control yet again.

It was again in 2014 that Sarbananda Sonowal again halted the Congress in the region. Sonowal would soon vacate the Lok Sabha seat as he took over as Chief Minister, and Pradan Baruah was elected as the new MP in the 2016 bye-elections as he defeated the Congress’ Hema Hari Prasanna Peguy by a margin of almost 2 lakh votes.

This time, the contest will be a bilateral contest between the Congress candidate Anil Borgohain and the incumbent Pradan Baruah.

However, anti-incumbency, as well as the controversy over the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, might prove to be obstacles in his next journey to Delhi. But this time the party is hoping to get total support from the Hindi-Bengali voters and the tea laborers in the area due to various schemes which have been implemented in the to woo the tea community

Meanwhile, the BJP allies Gana Shakti also have a strong presence in the region. Moreover, Anil Borgohain, who is an established businessman, is not a known face in the area.

Lakhimpur by the numbers:

List of Assembly Constituencies under Lakhimpur: Majuli, Naoboicha, Lakhimpur, Dhakuakhona, Dhemaji, Jonai, Chabua, Doomdooma, and Sadiya.

Total no. of voters:

Male voters: 866,875

Female voters: 837,730

Third gender voters: 42

Total voters: 1,704,447

Polling stations: 1880

Bookies’ favourite: Pradan Baruah