Meet Ignitius Ekka, the 'most-qualified' election candidate from Margherita

Meet Ignitius Ekka, the 'most-qualified' election candidate from Margherita

Meet Ignitius Ekka, the 'most-qualified' election candidate from Margherita

Ignitius Ekka Ignitius Ekka

MARGHERITA: With only a few days remaining till the commencement of the Assembly election in Assam, the Margherita Constituency seems to be in a festive mood. In this upper Assam Constituency, currently a BJP stronghold, as many as as 6 candidates have filed their candidature.


Sitting MLA Bhaskar Sharma of the BJP, Sankay Kumar Deb of the newly-floated AJP, Manoranjan Borgohain of the Congress, and independent candidates Ignitius Ekka, Rantu Sonowal and Bhogeswar Shyam will be slugging it out to win the election from the Constituency.


Ekka, all of 37, is by far the youngest of the candidates, and also the most highly-qualified. He has completed MA, MSW, and LLB, which speaks volumes about his intellect.


Talking to InsideNE, Ignitius Ekka shared his concern that Margherita Constituency is the easternmost region of Assam sharing its border with Arunachal Pradesh and Myanmar and has an abundance of natural resources, but continues to lag behind.


ALSO READ: Nagaland dog stands ‘guard’ inside Church while owner delivers sermon; pic goes viral


"From all aspects -- education, health, migration of youths due to unemployment, conservation of natural Resources, soil erosion and infiltrators' problem -- like it or not we have a slew of problems," he said.


North Eastern Coal Fields Coal India Limited in Margherita has seen its stopped due to rampant illegal Coal trade for which Margherita has Economically suffered a lot. More than 5,000 unemployed youths of 124 Number Margherita Constituency have moved to other states due to Sudden Stoppage of Coal Production since 1 year which Assam Government, Tinsukia District Administration, Margherita MLA, and Margherita Administration is directly responsible," said Ekka.


There are total of 1,92,800 Voters in the Constituency which will head to the polling booths in the first phase on March 27.


In the 2016 elections, Bhaskar Sarma of the BJP won the election by defeating his nearest rival -- Congress' Pradyut Bordoloi -- by more than 20,000 votes.



Edited By: Rana Pratap Saikia
Published On: Mar 14, 2021