Assam bye election: High voltage campaign ends, EC asked parties to strictly follow 'Silence Period'

Assam bye election: High voltage campaign ends, EC asked parties to strictly follow 'Silence Period'

EC asked parties to follow 'Silence Period' EC asked parties to follow 'Silence Period'

GUWAHATI: With the by-election season in full swing, the Election Commission of India (ECI) is keeping a close eye on Model Code of Conduct (MCC) violations in the poll-bound constituencies in Assam in order to ensure a free and fair election on October 30.

However, there is another important component of the ECI guidelines that must be followed during the election campaign.

The election silence is ban on political campaigning prior to voting, allowing voters to think about and decide on their vote in peace.


The ‘Silence Period’ for Bye-Election to Assam Legislative Assembly, 2021 commences today i.e. 72 hours

before the end of the poll.

As per directions of the ECI, no political parties/ person shall convene, hold or attend, join or address any public meetings/ gatherings, organise bike rallies, processions, etc. with effect from 5.00 pm today.

Furthermore, during the ‘Silence Period’, the display of election matter by means of television or any other similar apparatus is strictly prohibited.

ALSO READ: 103 year old man from Mizoram wins battle against COVID-19

It also bans propagation of any kind of election matter through platforms such as musical concerts or any theatrical performances or any other form of entertainment or amusement with a view to attract public attention, in any of the poll-bound districts during the period of 72 hours ending with the hour fixed for the conclusion of the poll.

As Assam has a total number of 126 constituencies in the legislative assembly, if BJP crosses the magic number of 64 alone after this by-election then it will become the only dominating political party in the house and will be able to free themselves from the alliance, with UPPL and Asom Gana Parishad, if wanted.

The by-elections for the vacant Majuli seat, which was left vacant for the AJP, have yet to be scheduled because its representative, Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal, resigned from the assembly hours after the Election Commission announced the poll schedule.

The by-elections in the Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani, and Thowra Assembly Constituencies are scheduled for October 30.

Counting of votes will be held on November 2 and the full election process will be concluded by November 5.

Follow us on Facebook





Edited By: Admin
Published On: Oct 27, 2021