AIUDF MLA Phanidhar Talukdar to join BJP says party President

AIUDF MLA Phanidhar Talukdar to join BJP says party President

Phanidhar Talukdar Phanidhar Talukdar

GUWAHATI: Phanidhar Talukdar, MLA of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) from Bhabanipur (Bajali) constituency will join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) soon, said Assam BJP president, Bhabesh Kalita.

Referring to the by-elections, Kalita told the media that Phanidhar Talukdar had already expressed his interest to join the BJP.

A by-election is held to fill a vacancy in an electorate seat, when a member of the legislative assembly or parliament resigns or dies. A by-election is only open to voters who are registered to vote in the constituency, and there is no party vote.

ALSO READ: Twitter locked Rahul Gandhi’s account temporarily for a post related to nine-year-old Dalit rape victim

Six out of 126 assembly constituencies in Assam will go for by-election soon.

Earlier this week, Sushanta Borgohain, MLA from Thowra constituency resigned from Congress and joined BJP.

Former Mariani MLA from Congress, Rupjyoti Kurmi also joined the BJP in June 2021.

Apart from Thorwa and Mariani constituency, two more to go for by-polls from Western Assam.

The Gossaigaon constituency and Tamulpur constituency is also set to go for by-polls after Majendra Narzary, the BPF MLA from Gossaigaon constituency, and Leho Ram Boro, MLA from United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) died due to COVID-19 in the second wave of the COVID pandemic.

ALSO READ: Around 32 Cadres Of NLFB Come Out Of Jungle, To Lay Down Arms In Kokrajhar

On the other hand, By-election will also be conducted for the Majuli constituency as the electorate seat of BJP MLA, Sarbananda Sonowal is now vacant ever since he has been appointed as the Union petroleum minister.

Kalita also said that those in the Congress-led Mahajoth (grand alliance) who like the Indian culture will join the BJP, as they do not want to be a part of the AIUDF.

Bhabesh Kalita said that he is confident of winning in all the six seats.

Follow us on Facebook



Edited By: Admin
Published On: Aug 08, 2021