Phase 3 polls: Assam registers 81.35% voter turnout till 6:40 pm

Phase 3 polls: Assam registers 81.35% voter turnout till 6:40 pm

assam assam

GUWAHATI: Assam has registered a voter turnout of 81.35% till 6:40 pm, the Election Commission of India (ECI) stated moments earlier.

South Salmara district (89.43%) led the districts when it came to turnout of voters. The eponymously named constituency also led the constituencies of the state with a 89.70% turnout.

On the other hand, North Salmara lagged behind all other districts with a 72.96% voter turnout. Kamrup (M) did not fare much better, as it 'only' registered a 73.68% voter turnout.

Voting for the third and final phase of Assam assembly election got under way at 7 am this morning to decide the fate of 337 candidates in 40 constituencies in 16 election districts.

A total of 79,19,641 voters, including 40,11,539 males, 39,07,963 females and 139 transgenders, will exercise their franchise at 11,401 polling stations, including 1814 auxiliaries. The voters also include two overseas, 26,460 service voters and 13,389 senior citizens postal voters.

ALSO READDima Hasao: EVM registers 171 votes against 90 voters; 5 suspended

The 337 candidates include 25 women. The age group of candidates range between 25 years and 73 years. There are three 73-year-old and four 25-year-old candidates in the fray.

Some of the key candidates in the fray include Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowary, Phani Bhusan Choudhury, Pramila Rani Brahma, Chandan Brahma, Ramendra Narayan Kalita, Ranjeet Kumar Dass apart from others.

Among the 40 constituencies, Dispur has the highest number of voters – 4,11,636 – and Dharmapur has the lowest of 1,41,592.

Gauhati (West) constituency will witness a contest among the maximum number of candidates – 15, while the minimum number of candidates is in Boko, where there are only three.

To ensure free and fair polling, a total of 320 companies of security forces have been deployed in the 16 districts going to polls.

Follow us on Facebook

Edited By: Rana Pratap Saikia
Published On: Apr 07, 2021