Pijush Hazarika says would be happy to have BJP MLA from Titabar

Pijush Hazarika says would be happy to have BJP MLA from Titabar

Titabar Titabar

GUWAHATI: Amidst all the speculations about Titabar Congress MLA Bhaskar Jyoti Baruah's joining the Bharatiya Janata Party before by-polls, BJP Minister Pijush Hazarika has asserted that the party will be very happy to have an MLA from there, from where former Assam Chief Minister Late Tarun Gogoi won four consecutive terms.

"For the well being of Assam and its people, if a BJP member gets elected from the Titabar constituency we will be extremely happy. I do not know whether Bhaskar Jyoti Baruah will stay in Congress or not. I am just expressing my thoughts," said Pijush Hazarika.

"We were in power in the last five years and we are for five another. I am quite certain that through good governance we will get people's mandate in future as well. Why should Titabar be an exception from that? Development should not halt there and with a BJP legislator we can make it sure," Hazarika added.

Also Read: Vigilance Cell raids two houses of arrested civil servant Saibar…

Recently, Titabar MLA Bhaskar Jyoti Baruah was seen sharing dais with Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal in Jorhat at BJP's Jan Ashirwad Yatra. Baruah's presence has fuelled the speculation if he is the next Congress MLA from Assam to join the BJP as it's not very ancient since Congress MLAs Rupjyoti Kurmi and Sushanta Borgohain have changed their allegiance to BJP.

"I will not name them but many MLAs want to join our party and they are in constant touch. The only thing I can say is that very soon from wherever BJP can play other parties will be uprooted," Hazarika revealed.

Assam went to the polls in March-April last. Two constituencies fell vacant after that following death of two MLAs whereas two fell vacant after two Congress MLAs' resignations from the party and the legislative assembly. On the other hand, the Majuli constituency fell vacant following former Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal's induction into the Union Cabinet.

Follow us on Facebook

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Aug 25, 2021