Sarbananda Sonowal: BTR administration led by Promod Boro will promote "harmony" in region

Sarbananda Sonowal: BTR administration led by Promod Boro will promote "harmony" in region

sarbananda sarbananda

GUWAHATI: Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal today formally announced the new Chief of the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR), United People’s Party Liberal’s Pramod Boro. He made the announcement after discussions with the leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Gana Surakkha Party (GSP), and UPPL.

Announcing that UPPL Chief Promod Boro will be the next Chief of the BTC, Sonowal added, “After discussions with the three major parties UPPL’s Pramod Boro will be the Chief of the BTR. He added that the newly elected government will work towards the welfare of the people and also promote harmony among them. I hope people of the region will welcome this decision.”

“Today, at this moment, I extend my heartfelt gratitude to the people of the four districts of BTC area - Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri. I am grateful to the people for their cooperation in conducting the elections peacefully. Through the election, they proved that everyone desires harmony and peace,” Sarbananda Sonowal stated.

Sarbananda Sonowal also greeted the winners of the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) elections during the meeting that was held during the afternoon hours of Sunday, December 13.

NEDA Convenor, Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, BJP President, Ranjeet Dass, UPPL President Pramod Boro, Gana Suraksha Party’s supremo Naba Sarania, and other leaders were present in the meeting.


It may be mentioned here that the UPPL led by Pramod Boro gave a tough competition in the election. Hagrama Mohilary led Bodoland People's Front (BPF) had won 17 out of the total 40 Seats in the election, emerging as the single largest party.

UPPL (12 Seats) and BJP (9 Seats) emerged as the strong performers, whereas, the Congress-AIUDF and GSP won one Seat each.

Over 78 percent voter turnout was recorded on Thursday BTC’s second and final phase of polling, which witnessed police firing in the air to control a clash between BPF and UPPL supporters in Chirang district of Assam.

The much-awaited voting for the BTC began on December 7 with over 77.01 per cent voters exercising their franchise in the first phase of polling for 21 seats in Udalguri and Baksa districts, where 130 candidates have contested.

Out of the total 3,164 polling booths in the four districts, the authorities marked 606 as very sensitive and 1,266 as sensitive, and arranged tight security measures in those.

A total of 23,87,422 voters in the two phases exercised their franchise to elect their representatives for the local council, formed in 2003 and elections being held since 2005.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Dec 13, 2020