Several ministers, veteran politicians among key candidates in fray in 2nd phase of Assam polls

Several ministers, veteran politicians among key candidates in fray in 2nd phase of Assam polls

Assam Assam

GUWAHATI: Several seasoned politicians will try their luck in the second phase of Assam assembly election, campaigning for which ended today.

A total of 73,44,631 electorates will decide the fate of 345 candidates in fray in this phase to be held on April 1.

Some of the key candidates contesting in the second phase include ministers Pijush Hazarika, Parimalsukla Baidya, Bhabesh Kalita, deputy speaker of Assam Legislative Assembly Aminul Haque Laskar, Gautam Roy, Dilip Kumar Paul besides others.

Pijush Hazarika is contesting from Jagiroad constituency, Baidya from Dholai, Kalita from Rangia while Laskar is from Sonai constituency.

Former Congress veteran Gautam Roy will contest from Katigorah on a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket while former deputy speaker Dilip Kumar Paul is contesting from Silchar as an independent candidate.

Sitting Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Karimganj North constituency, Kamalakhya Dev Purkayastha will contest on a Congress ticket. In the 2016 state assembly elections, Purkayastha won from the seat beating Mission Ranjan Das of BJP by a margin of 468 votes.

Three time MLA Siddique Ahmed will be contesting from Karimganj South constituency on a Congress ticket while former minister Ajit Singh will fight from Udharbond constituency, also on a Congress ticket.

In the last state assembly election, Siddique Ahmed lost to Aziz Ahmed Khan of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) by a margin of 4,416 votes. On the other hand, Ajit Singh lost to Mihir Kanti Shome of BJP by a margin of 8,606 votes.

Rama Kanta Dewri, who loves to be amidst negative publicity and controversies, will be contesting from Morigaon for the second time on a BJP ticket. In the 2016 assembly elections, Dewri won from this seat beating Jonjonali Baruah of Congress by a margin of 29,623 votes.

Former chief executive member of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) and BJP leader Sum Ronghang is contesting from Diphu constituency. In 2016, Ronghang won from this seat beating Bidya Sing Engleng of Congress by a margin of 28,236 votes.

AIUDF supremo Maulana Badaruddin Ajmal’s brother Sirajuddin Ajmal will contest from the Jamunamukh constituency while former Congressman Durga Das Boro will be contesting from Kalaigaon constituency on a Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) ticket.

Rajya Sabha Member and BJP leader Biswajit Daimary is contesting from Paneri, while former Asam Sahitya Sabha president Paramananda Rajbongshi will contest from Sipajhar constituency on a BJP ticket.

Former NDFB leader Gobinda Chandra Basumatary will contest from Udalguri constituency on a United Peoples’ Party Liberal (UPPL) ticket. Basumatary is pitched against former minister and BPF candidate Rihon Daimari.

Also Read: 264 ‘crorepatis’ to contest in Assam assembly election 2021

Daimari won from the seat beating independent candidate Anjali Prabha Daimari by a margin of 24,374 votes in the last state assembly elections.

The first phase of election in 47 constituencies was held on March 27 and 79.93 per cent voter turnout was recorded. The second phase of assembly polls for 39 seats will be held on April 1 while the state will go for the third and final phase on April 6. Counting will take place on May 2.


Follow us on Facebook




Edited By: Pallav Kumar Bora
Published On: Mar 31, 2021