United Movement Group drops Tezpur nominee Namita Brahma

United Movement Group drops Tezpur nominee Namita Brahma

Assam Assam

Guwahati, March 30, 2019:

United Movement Group consisting of the ABSU, UPPL, NDFB-P, and PJACBM have decided to drop their nominated Tezpur candidate, Namita Brahma, from the Lok Sabha race on 27 March.

The Movement Group issued a joint statement to settle the statement. “Tezpur Parliamentary Constituency is a respectable constituency for all the communities of Adivashi, Gorkha, Assamese, Bodo and other ethnic communities etc. Since the independence Adivashi, Gorkha, Assamese have been representing from Tezpur Lok Sabha seat. Hence, taking into account of the appeal and request of various organizations, particularly from the Gorkhas and Adivashis, the movement groups have decided to drop our nominated candidate so that those communities can represent from the seat for building understanding and peace among the candidates.”

In the statement, the Movement Group also stated its three demands: Implementation of the forest dwellers act, 2006 in Sonitpur and Bishwanath districts in 559 forest villages, implementation of Panchayati Raj in 450 villages in Sonitpur and Biswanath and permanent solution for Bodo issue for permanent peace through the ongoing peace talk with the NDFB (P) and the NDFB.

The Movement Group will meanwhile support the UPPL party candidates in the Kokrajhar (Urkhao Gwra Brahma) and Mangaldoi (Prodeep Kr. Daimary) Constituencies.

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Mar 31, 2019