Will Kamakhya Prasad Tasa take on Rupjyoti Kurmi in Mariani?

Will Kamakhya Prasad Tasa take on Rupjyoti Kurmi in Mariani?

kamakhya Prasad Tasa kamakhya Prasad Tasa

JORHAT: With an eye on the tea community-dominated Mariani seat, that has been a Congress bastion for decades together, the ruling BJP has lined up MP Kamakhya Prasad Tasa along with four others as ticket aspirants from the constituency.

The other aspirants include Duleen Nayak, Alok Ghosh and Ramani Tanti. Although Tasa’s name figures at the bottom of the list, party sources said the former student leader might spring to the top in an appeasement effort.

Sources said the Rajya Sabha member has himself been taking keen interest to be in the fray against sitting Congress MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi. However, almost all those who helped the party high command prepare the panel of aspirants have suggested his name at the bottom, the sources added.

ALSO READ: Seat sharing discussions with AGP, UPPL ‘99% complete’: Himanta Biswa Sarma

The BJP is also likely to field candidates in Jorhat as well as Titabor constituencies of the Upper Assam district. The BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) is likely to retain the Teok constituency. A final decision on the seat sharing is expected by tomorrow evening.

In the list prepared in presence of the three constituencies’ in-charge and state BJP vice president Hemaprabha Barthakur here on Monday, assembly speaker Hitendra Nath Goswami is the frontrunner, while district party president Santanu Pujari and Ishwar Prashanna Bordoloi are also in the race.

Former Congress MLA Hemant Kalita has been prime aspirant in Titabor. The list also comprises the names of Krishnamoni Chutia and Kumud Kachari.

ALSO READ: Ready to opt out of contesting polls for a united opposition: Akhil Gogoi

Party insiders said Barthakur prepared the list in consultation with 70 to 80 party state members, zilla parishad members, panchayat presidents, former panchayat presidents, office bearers, etc.

The recommendations were placed before the state party leadership in Guwahati yesterday. The party leadership left for New Delhi today to get the first list of candidates cleared.

The three Jorhat district constituencies will go to the polls in the first phase on March 27. Polling will be held in 47 constituencies in the first phase.