lohit lohit

7 July 2018:

The Lohit Youth Library Network’s award “Bhajan” Award for the reader-activist contributing substantially to spreading the joy of reading in Lohit region over the years was awarded this year jointly to Kishalu Kri & Besunlu Mepong both Cl-XII students of Govt Hr Sec School, Tezu and activists of APNE Library & Bamboosa Library respectively during the last 6 years.

Kishalu Kri is a budding actor & a gifted story-writer, with many stories published in children’s magazines, while Besunlu Mepong has been an excellent story-teller especially in Mishmi language. They are the alumnae of Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidylaya, Wakro.

The ‘Bhajan’ award instituted in 2014 by a patron from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala in memory of his parents, carries a cash of Rs 9000, a merit certificate & books.

Rejum Potom, a Govt school teacher of Tezu & Prem Pradhan, caretaker of Ming Woods, Tezu won Sister Nivedita Award for dedicated library services. A devoted volunteer since 2011, Rejum has put in extraordinary efforts to mould and guide students to develop library habits in and outside her school. Prem Pradhan, in his early 60’s, has been an inspiring volunteer for all, providing library support services at Bamboosa Library.

Dedicated to the renowned nationalist & educationist Sister Nivedita, the award is sponsored by a library patron from Pune, and carries Rs 5000, a merit certificate & books.

Ranganatha Award for meritorious library services to the community has been awarded to eco-activist Silotmai Dellang of Wakro who has been a strong support to both APNE Library & Bamboosa Library since 2012 as a volunteer & counsellor. She has also been a dedicated leader in social initiatives by APNE Library like ‘Green Wakro’ & plastic-free campaigns.

The Library Network has also declared prizes for youth volunteers, reader-activists, budding writers, artists at different unit-libraries. The prizes have been sponsored by patrons from across India and the Surajmal Jalan Charitable Trust, Dibrugarh.