Lok Sabha polls | 59 seats to go to polls in phase 7

Lok Sabha polls | 59 seats to go to polls in phase 7

oil oil

Guwahati, May 18, 2019:

The biggest celebration of democracy will finally come to an end tomorrow as electorates from the final 59 Lok Sabha Constituencies will head to the polling booths tomorrow.

The seventh and final phase of voting in the Lok Sabha Election 2019 is set to take place on Sunday, 19 May, in 59 constituencies across seven states and one Union Territory.

All parliamentary constituencies in Himachal Pradesh and Punjab, along with the Union Territory of Chandigarh, will vote in the seventh and final phase of the polls.

In Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, voting will take place in a few Lok Sabha constituencies.

The Varanasi seat, from where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is seeking to be re-elected, is one of the key seats that will vote in Phase 7.

The carnival of democracy has been spread over a period of five and a half weeks and began on April 11.

The election in the Northeastern States was held during the first three phases on April 11, 19, and 23.

According to the Election Commission of India, 90 crore people were eligible to vote, with an increase of 8.43 crore voters since the last general election in 2014, making this the largest-ever election in the world. 15 million voters in the age group of 18–19 years are eligible to exercise their right to vote for the first time.

It may be mentioned that38,325 transgender individuals have been able to vote for the first time as members of the third-sex and not as male or female.

71,735 overseas voters were enrolled in the electoral rolls for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The counting of votes shall take place on May 23.


Edited By: Admin
Published On: May 19, 2019