TMC Erosion: 9 Sitting MLAs, 1 MP and other leaders join BJP

TMC Erosion: 9 Sitting MLAs, 1 MP and other leaders join BJP


KOLKATA: Former West Bengal Minister Suvendu Adhikari, Member of Parliament Sunil Mondal. former MP Dasarath Tirkey and 9 sitting MLAs - 6 from the TMC, and one each from the INC, CPIM, and CPI - joined the saffron party yesterday.

The West Bengal assembly elections will be held next year and it’s a frontier the BJP wants to conquer. The party, however, faces a formidable rival in the state — Mamata Banerjee and her Trinamool Congress (TMC) party.

In the 2016 assembly elections, the party contested 291 of the 294 seats, and ended up winning just 3 seats with a vote share of 10.6 per cent. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 18 of the 42 seats and its vote share rose up to 40.64 percent. The TMC emerged as the largest party in the elections.

ALSO READ: Assam: BPF decides to play a strong opposition's role in BTC, says Prabin Boro

The senior politicians who joined the BJP party are as follows:

  1. Suvendu Adhikari, Nandigram
  2. Tapasi Mondal, Haldia
  3. Ashoke Dinda, Tamluk
  4. Sudip Mukherjee, Purulia
  5. Saikat Panja, Burdwan
  6. Shilbhadra Dutta, Barrackpore
  7. Dipali Biswas, Gazole
  8. Sukra Munda, Nagarkata
  9. Shyamapda Mukherjee, Bishnupur (former Minister)
  10. Biswajit Kundu, Kalna
  11. Banasri Maity, Kanthi North Joined BJP Yesterday in presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Dec 20, 2020