NPP-INC alliance to form Govt in Manipur after BJP loses fort

NPP-INC alliance to form Govt in Manipur after BJP loses fort

Manipur politics Manipur politics

All the political parties deserted from the BJP coalition government in Manipur are all set to form the government by forging an alliance with the Congress, which clinched a single majority in the 2017 state Legislative Assembly election.

The state Deputy Chief Minister and the National People's Party (NPP) leader Y. Joykumar Singh told InsideNE that a memorandum has already been sent to the Governor Najma Heptulla.

The saffron party in Manipur, which won 21 seats in the last assembly election and formed the coalition government, has now lost its majority after nine MLAs - three from BJP, four from NPP, one from TMC and one independent - quit the coalition on June 17th, 2020

Also read: Manipur: BJP govt loses majority after 9 MLAs resign

Congress welcomes move

Welcoming the move, Ningombam Bupenda Meitei, Manipur Congress spokesperson said, "It is a historic day today on June 18 that Congress led coalition parties have gone to Manipur's Raj Bhavan to stake claim for the new govt. under the leadership of Shri Okram Ibobi Singh & requested Governor for special assembly for vote of no confidence."

A total of 12 MLAs led by Congress, including NPP, have sent a notice to Manipur Legislative Assembly for the removal of Speaker under Article 179(c) of the Constitution of India. This notice will further strengthen the formation of the new Congress-led coalition govt. in Manipur.


The Manipur High Court’s order restrained 7 defected Congress MLAs to BJP from entering to Manipur Legislative Assembly till the final disposal of the pending disqualification cases against the 7 defected Congress MLAs by the Speaker in the Speaker’s Tribunal. The High Court directs the Speaker to ensure compliance of the order.

It may be mentioned that the seven MLAs – Oinam Lukhoi, Ksh Biren, Paonam Brojen, Sanasam Bira, Ngamthang Haokip, Ginsuanhau Zou and Yengkhom Surchandra – got elected from Congress ticket but defected to BJP after the 2017 assembly election of Manipur.

The disqualification of the seven MLAs was sought on the ground that they had switched sides to the BJP even though they had been elected as Congress candidates in the Assembly elections of 2017. The seven MLAs had filed an objection report on the ground of maintainability of the disqualification case filed against them before the Speaker Tribunal by some Congress MLAs and private parties under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution of India.

The speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly had fixed June 17th, 2020, for further proceedings of the case and fixed June 12th, 2020, for the respondents to file comments.

Also read: Manipur speaker dismisses objection pleas of 7 MLAs, next hearing on June 17

Decline of BJP

The decline of BJP, which formed the government at the centre with a majority for the second consecutive term, started late in 2019 when it faced severe electoral defeats consecutively after the parliamentary elections. It lost grip on Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chattishgarh, Punjab, and Delhi.

After a massive win in the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the saffron political party motivated with Hindutva ideology continued its spectacular performance and formed government in the subsequent state Legislative Assembly elections.

The Modi-wave worked effectively in Northeast India. In 2016, the BJP formed government by forging alliance with the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF) while in 2017, it formed the government in Manipur for the first time with N. Biren Singh as the Chief Minister.

In Tripura, Manik Sarkar led CPI(M) government was overthrown in the 2018 Assembly election and BJP formed government.

But, the gradual decline of the ruling BJP has unequivocally forced the party high-command to reconsider its strategies.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.