20 of Mizoram’s 40 newly-elected MLAs are first timers

20 of Mizoram’s 40 newly-elected MLAs are first timers

Mizoram’s Mizoram’s

Guwahati, December 15, 2018:

Twenty of the 40 newly-elected MLAs in Mizoram are first timers.

The Mizo National Front (MNF) which swept the polls by bagging 26 seats has 14 first timer MLAs. Five of the eight MLAs of Zoram People’s Movement are first timers. Similarly, of the five Congress MLAs is a first timer.

The first timers includes T J Lalnuntluanga of the MNF who defeated Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla in the Champhai South seat.

The two senior most first time MLAs are Ramthanmawia (61) and Dr. Z R Thiamsanga (60), both from the MNF. They won from East Tuipui and Champhai North seats respectively in Champhai district.

Robert Romawia Royte of the MNF, who defeated Finance Minister Lalsawta, is a prominent first time winner. He is the president of Aizawl Football Club (AFC) which won the I-League title in 2016.

The other important first timers are C Lalmuanpuia of the MNF, who defeated Lal Thanhawla’s younger brother and PWD Minister Lal Thanzara and V L Zaithanzama of the ZPM who trounced the MNF leader and opposition group leader Vanlalzawma in Aizawl West – III seat.

Another giant killer was Prof Lalnunmawia of the MNF, a college teacher, who defeated Agriculture Minister K S Thanga in– Aizawl South – III.

Dr. Vanlaltanpuia of the MNF, also a college teacher, defeated Horticulture Minister P C Lalthanliana, who is a close confidant of Thanhawla in Lunglei North seat.