Chuba Chang elected unopposed as Nagaland’s Noksen MLA

Chuba Chang elected unopposed as Nagaland’s Noksen MLA

Chuba Chang Chuba Chang

KOHIMA: H Chuba Chang of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) has been elected unopposed to the Nagaland assembly in the by-election to the Noksen constituency.

Chang was declared as elected uncontested by the returning officer on Saturday, the last date for withdrawal of nomination.

Chang was the consensus candidate of the Progressive Democratic Alliance (PDA), led by NDPP.

ALSO READ: Assam Rifles visits children’s home in Manipur to celebrate Easter

He was the only candidate to file nomination for the bypoll scheduled to be held on April 17, 2021. The opposition Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) did not field a candidate for the bypoll.

He was a former Congress MLA till 2008.

“Congratulations to PDA Consensus Candidate Mr. H. Chuba Chang for being elected for the 5th time from Noksen a/c. We thank our alliance partners and all well wishers for the support and wish him a successful tenure,” tweeted NDPP.

The bypoll was necessitated to fill the vacancy caused after the demise of sitting MLA CM Chang.

CM Chang who was the minister for environment, forest and climate change and justice and law, died on October 12 last year.

Edited By: Imtiaz Ahmed
Published On: Apr 05, 2021