NPF party suspends 7 MLAs for supporting NDPP candidate in Lok Sabha election

NPF party suspends 7 MLAs for supporting NDPP candidate in Lok Sabha election


Kohima, April 16, 2019:

Seven MLAs from the Naga People’s Front (NPF) have been suspended from both primary and active membership of the party following the Show Cause order issued on 28.03.2019 by reply Disciplinary Action Committee (DAC) seeking reply for support to its political opponent National Democratic Progressive Party's (NDPP) chosen candidate in the Lok Sabha election.

Shurhozelie Liezietsu, President of the NDP party, in a statement says:"In pursuance to the recommendation of the DAC and in exercise of the power conferred on Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu as the President of the NPF by Clause 9 of Article-V read with Article XIV of the Constitution of the Naga People’s Front, both Primary and Active Membership of the NPF have been suspended. However, they will be bound by the whip of the Naga People’s Front on the floor of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly as per the existing law and judicial decisions of the Apex Court."

In the suspension order, it was stated, “This attitude on your part is nothing short of willfully defying the collective decision of the party to support a particular political party/candidate for the lone Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency in the 17th Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) Election, which is sufficient to infer that your decisions and movements are all anti-party activities. Also, you have demanded to withdraw the Show Cause Notice served upon you rather than expressing your remorse for not being able to adhere to the Party’s collective decision and directive. Such attitude on your part factually demonstrates that you have some hidden agenda to further disintegrate the party which cannot be overlooked.”

“It had convened Consultative Meeting comprising of All NPF MLAs/All COBs/All CEC Members/All Central Frontals & Cell Office Bearers/All Divisional Presidents, Working Presidents & General Secretary on 30.03.2019 at NPF Central Office. This meeting was indeed an opportunity to explain your position to the party. However, you have intentionally refused to attend the consultative meeting which is nothing short of forfeiting your right to talk of inner party democracy and voluntarily giving up your membership from the NPF", read the communique.

In the order it was also mentioned, “Inspite of serving Show Cause Notice to you by the Party, you have been willfully ignoring and avoiding the NPF Legislature meetings since 25.03.2019 without valid reasons which is another proof of voluntarily giving up your membership from the NPF as you have been stopping yourself from participating in any meetings of the NPF ever since you openly associated yourself with the political opponent of the NPF.”

It has also been alleged that even after serving Show Cause Notice by the Party, the seven MLAs continuously associated with the PDA Government and the NDPP candidate for the lone Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency.

The seven NPF legislators include: Kejong Chang, (54 Tuensang Sadar II A/C), E.E. Pangteang (48 Moka A/C), Eshak Konyak (47 Aboi A/C), C.L. John (45 Tehok A/C), B.S. Nganlang (Tamlu A/C), N. Thongwang Konyak (Mon Town A/C) and Toyang Chang (53 Tuensang Sadar-I A/C).

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Apr 16, 2019