Bihar Elections 2020: Nitish Kumar to take oath as CM today

Bihar Elections 2020: Nitish Kumar to take oath as CM today

nitish kumar nitish kumar

PATNA: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Sunday informed that Nitish Kumar will be the Chief Minister of Bihar for a fourth straight term. The decision has been taken after a meeting of the NDA legislators. Nitish Kumar will be taking oath of office at an event at 4.30 pm on Monday. The announcement was made by BJP leader and Union minister Rajnath Singh in Patna.

According to reports, the BJP’s Tarkishore Prasad, the MLA from Bihar’s Katihar, will be replacing Sushil Modi as his deputy.

Also Read: Tripura: Dissident group prepares gameplan to remove Biplab Deb from CM post

Reportedly, Nitish Kumar’s government will comprise of 36 ministers -- 15% of the 243 member assembly. After the win, BJP may have 60% of the ministerial berths in the government.

In Monday’s swearing-in event, apart from Nitish Kumar, 8-10 senior ministers may take oath of office along with him. The rest will be finalised later.

Senior BJP MLAs Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi were elected as the leader and deputy leader of the BJP legislature party. The two BJP leaders are likely to get the Deputy CM’s post in the Bihar government.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.