Lok Sabha election 2019: BJP opens up early lead

Lok Sabha election 2019: BJP opens up early lead


Guwahati, May 23, 2019:

The much-awaited counting of the 2019 Lok Sabha election has begun and the early trends show that the exit polls were perhaps on the right track. The BJP party is showing clear dominance over the Congress party during these early hours of counting.

As per early trends released from 90 Lok Sabha Constituencies, the NDA is leading in 70 constituencies, the UPA is leading in 15 constituencies, while other parties are leading in 5 Lok Sabha constituencies.

Counting has begun across the nation in all 542 Lok Sabha constituencies and the NDA allies have opened up a strong lead in these early hours of counting.

It may be mentioned that a party needs to win in 272 Lok Sabha seats to win an absolute majority. In the 2014 election, the BJP party became the first party in decades to secure a majority after it won 282 seats.

Meanwhile, few trends are also coming in from the Northeast seats.

In Tura, NPP candidate Agatha Sangma is leading.

In Kaliabor, Congress' Gaurav Gogoi is leading.

In Dhubri, AIUDF's Badrudding Ajmal is leading.

In Guwahati, BJP candidate Queen Oja is leading.

In Silchar, Congress candidate Sushmita Dev is leading during the early phases.

Keep following Inside Northeast on Facebook, Youtube, Twitter, and Instagram. Do download our app from the Google Playstore for the latest news updates, views, and entertainment on the go. We deliver the Northeast.




Edited By: Admin
Published On: May 23, 2019