LS Speaker | After Meira and Sumitra, Will It Be Maneka Now?

LS Speaker | After Meira and Sumitra, Will It Be Maneka Now?

Maneka Maneka

New Delhi, June 5, 2019:

India got her first woman Lok Sabha Speaker when Congress’ Meira Kumar was elected to the post on June 4, 2009. Five years later, BJP’s Sumitra Mahajan was elected to the post of LS Speaker on June 5, 2014. This time the question is -- Will it be again a woman who will be the LS Speaker?

Sources within the BJP told Inside Northeast that eight-term BJP MP and former Union minister Maneka Gandhi appeared to be the frontrunner for the post. If Maneka becomes the Speaker then she will be the third Lok Sabha Speaker. And for three consecutive terms woman will occupy the post of LS Speaker.

Apart from Maneka senior BJP MPs like Radha Mohan Singh and Virender Kumar are also in the race for the post of Lok Sabha speaker. Besides them former Union ministers Jual Oram and S S Ahluwalia are also among the probable candidates.

Among them Maneka Gandhi is the most experienced BJP parliamentarian in the Lok Sabha and is apparently the strongest contender for the post. But the BJP may spring surprise while choosing its nominee.

The first session of the new Lok Sabha is scheduled to begin on June 17. Election to the post of speaker will be held on June 19.

Keep following Inside Northeast on Facebook, Youtube, Twitter, and Instagram. Do download our app from the Google Playstore for the latest news updates, views, and entertainment on the go. We deliver the Northeast.