India- Sri Lanka T20I to Begin at 7 PM Today

India- Sri Lanka T20I to Begin at 7 PM Today

T20 Lanka T20 Lanka

Guwahati, January 5, 2020:

The much-awaited T20 International cricket match between India and Sri Lanka will begin at 7 pm today at the Barshapara stadium in Guwahati.

The two cricket teams have already arrived in the city, thereby setting the cricket mood among the people here. The spectators are also all set to support the home team and offer the much-needed victory and a reason to cheer amid the gloomy environment of the Citizenship (Amendment) Act protests and the government’s efforts to garner support for the same.

ALSO READ: No Danger for Assam as Long as Modi is in Power, Claims Ram Madhav

Addressing the media, Indian skipper Virat Kohli informed that Rohit, who has been rested from the T20I series, will not be a part of the team. Interestingly, Kohli needs just one more run to surpass fellow teammate Rohit Sharma and become the highest run-scorer in the shortest format.

Currently, Kohli is tied with Rohit on the top spot with both the players having 2,633 runs. Since Rohit is rested, Kohli can easily surpass him and extend the gap to cement his position at the top of the list.

Meanwhile, comeback man Jasprit Bumrah and Shikhar Dhawan will hopefully be the cynosures of all eyes during the match as both of them had suffered serious injuries earlier.

Fans can catch all the action LIVE on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi, Star Sports 1 Hindi HD, Star Sports 1 Tamil, Star Sports 1 Kannada, Star Sports 1 Telugu, Star Sports 1 Bangla.

On the other hand, Guwahati Commissioner of Police, Munna Prasad Gupta informed that the spectators will be able to carry only mobile phones and wallets into the stadium to watch the T20 match. The spectators will have to reach the stadium by 4 P.M as the gates of the stadium will open at 4 P.M.

The Squads -

India: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Manish Pandey, Washington Sundar, Sanju Samson.

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (c), Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Isuru Udana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Kusal Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha

The spectators of the T20 International cricket match are definitely awaiting the India’s ‘new year gift’ with the defeat of Sri Lanka.

ALSO READ: Assam: Gun Shots Fired at Anti-CAA Leader’s House in Golaghat

Support Inside Northeast (InsideNE), an independent media platform that focuses on Citizen-centric stories from Northeast India that are surprising, inspiring, cinematic and emotionally relevant.

Readers like you make Inside Northeast’s work possible.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Jan 05, 2020