Congress leaves Majuli seat for AJP ahead of Assam Assembly by-poll

Congress leaves Majuli seat for AJP ahead of Assam Assembly by-poll

Congress leaves Majuli seat for AJP Congress leaves Majuli seat for AJP

GUWAHATI: The Assam Congress left the Majuli constituency seat to Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP) ahead of by-elections to be held in five Assam constituencies on October 30, the party announced on Sunday, reported ANI.

Addressing a joint press conference with AJP president Lurinjyoti Gogoi in Guwahati, APCC President Bhupen Kumar Borah said, "I am pleased to announce that we will leave the Majuli seat to AJP while discussions with Akhil Gogoi on the Bhawanipur seat continue, and a final decision is awaited."

Speaking on the occasion, Borah also said that the by-election for Majuli may be called soon, as the seat has become vacant."

At a party meeting just before the press conference, election-related issues for all six constituencies have also been discussed, he added.

"It is high time that all like-minded parties come together to contain the divisive and communal agenda of the BJP," Borah further stated.

The by-elections on five seats- Gossaigaon, Thowra, Tamulpur, Mariani, and Bhabanipur are scheduled for October 30.

ALSO READ: Over Rs 47 lakh in cash seized in Assam’s Tinsukia

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today released the list of the candidates to be contested in the Assam Assembly by-polls scheduled.

The party nominated Phanidhar Talukdar for Bhabanipur, Rupjyoti Kurmi for Mariani, and Sushanta Borgohain for the Thowra constituency.

While the party fields candidates in the constituencies of Mariani, Bhabanipur, and Thowra, they have given its ally party UPPL to file candidates for Gossaingaon and Tamulpur.

Moreover, Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal, resigned from the assembly hours after the Election Commission announced the poll schedule, by-elections for the vacant Majuli seat, left for the AJP, have yet to be scheduled.

The Congress won the Thowra and Mariani assembly seats earlier this year, but the MLAs resigned to join the ruling BJP party.

As Assam has a total number of 126 constituencies in the legislative assembly, if BJP crosses the magic number of 64 alone after this by-election then it will become the only dominating political party in the house and will be able to free themselves from the alliance, with UPPL and Asom Gana Parishad, if wanted.

Follow us on Facebook