Ratan Chakraborty likely to be new Tripura Assembly Speaker

Ratan Chakraborty likely to be new Tripura Assembly Speaker

Ratan Chakraborty Ratan Chakraborty

AGARTALA: After incumbent Rebati Mohan Das resigned earlier this month for "personal reasons," officials on Thursday announced that veteran Tripura leader and former minister Ratan Chakraborty is likely to be elected Assembly Speaker unchallenged.

According to reports, Chakraborty's nomination paper was submitted until Thursday, said Assembly Secretary Bishnu Pada Karmakar.

Jitendra Chaudhury, the state secretary of the CPI-M, told IANS that his party, which has 16 members in the 60-member House, would not contest in the election.

Ratan Chakraborty stated that he would take on whatever role the party assigned to him.

ALSO READ: Areca nuts worth over Rs 46 lakh seized in Mizoram’s Champhai

“I have been chosen for a constitutional job after about three decades, and I am grateful to Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb for this,” Chakraborty aid.

The three-time MLA's selection for the position is noteworthy because Deputy Speaker Biswa Bandhu Sen was a strong contender.

Chakraborty joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2017.

He was elected from the Khayerpur constituency in the 2018 polls.

Ratan  Chakraborty is a former minister in the Congress-led government (1988-1993).

According to party sources, Chakraborty's elevation was part of the BJP's decision to overhaul both the administration and the party organization ahead of the 2023 Assembly elections.

Three new faces — Ram Prasad Paul, Sushanta Chowdhury, and Bhagaban Chandra Das — were inducted into the Tripura cabinet last month in the first-ever expansion of the BJP-The Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance government, in response to open resentment by a section of ruling party MLAs and leaders led by former BJP Minister Sudip Roy Barman.

Follow us on Facebook


Edited By: Admin
Published On: Sep 24, 2021