Manipur by-polls: BJP candidate wins from Wangoi Constituency

Manipur by-polls: BJP candidate wins from Wangoi Constituency

wangoi sanskrit
India TodayNE
  • Nov 10, 2020,
  • Updated Jun 29, 2022, 12:48 AM IST

IMPHAL: Counting of votes is underway in Manipur and some of the results have now started coming in. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate O Lukhoi has won the crucial polls in the Wangoi Assembly Constituency by a slim margin of 257 votes.

The National People's Party (NPP) had carried out high-voltage campaigns in Wangoi, which also featured NPP President and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma.

Meanwhile, BJP candidate P Brojen is leading in Wangjing Tentha AC and another saffron party candidate N Haokip is leading in Saitu. The celebrations have already begun in Manipur, as the Congress and National People's Party (NPP) have performed poorly in the polls.

Also Read: Assam MP Gaurav Gogoi opposes Indian Army proposal to induct non-Gorkhas into Gorkha Rifles

Meanwhile, Independent candidate Antas Khan has won from the Lilong Assembly Constituency.

The Election Commission has said that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday has secured a victory in the Singhat Assembly constituency in Manipur. By-polls have been held in 5 Constituencies. BJP candidate Ginsuanhau has been declared the winner from Singhat.

By-polls were held in five Assembly constituencies -- Lilong, Wangjing Tentha, and Saitu, in the state -- on November 7.

To support our brand of fearless and investigative journalism, support us HERE.


The Inside Northeast app HERE for News, Views, and Reviews from Northeast India.

Do keep following us for news on-the-go. We deliver the Northeast.

Read more!