BJP bags landslide victory in Tripura civic polls

BJP bags landslide victory in Tripura civic polls

BJP expels 11 for contesting Tripura ADC polls BJP expels 11 for contesting Tripura ADC polls

AGARTALA: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Sunday garnered a sweeping victory in the Tripura civic body polls.

The BJP on Sunday garnered a massive victory in th Tripura civic body polls, winning all seats in the 51-member Agartala Municipal Corporation. State election commission officials said that the party had also secured all wards in the Khowai, Belonia and Kumarghat Municipal Councils.

The BJP also made a clean sweep in the Dharmanagar and Teliamura Municipal Councils and the Amarpur Nagar Panchayat. Sonamura Nagar Panchayat and Melaghar Nagar Panchayat became Opposition-less with the BJP having won all the 13 seats each. It also bagged the 11-member Jirania Nagar Panchayat.

The party secured 12 seats of Ambassa Municipal Council, while the TMC and the CPI-M won one seat each and another went to an independent candidate.
The BJP also won 16 seats of Kailashahar Municipal Council and the CPI(M) got one.

Taking to Twitter, the party thanked the northeastern state for its continued support. "We will leave no stone unturned for the development of the state," the party added.

The main contenders besides the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), TMC and CPI(M) have claimed that the voting process was rigged and demanded that the Tripura civic polls be countermanded.

TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee lauds party workers for their 'exceptional' work

The TMC leader said that the party had emerged as the 'principal opposition' in the state, with more than 20% vote share.

Edited By: Admin
Published On: Nov 29, 2021